Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 10th, 2008

I’ve had a serious influx of new beauty products in the last few months which has resulted in discovering some new HG (that would be Holy Grail for the uninitiated) items.  Some of them I adored after just one use (hello Guerlain Kohl) and some took a few practice runs (Chanel Exceptionnel Mascara, I’m looking at you) before the love started to flow.  Here’s my current top five:

1.  Guerlain Terracotta Loose Kohl–I’m in LOVE.  This is an absolutely amazing eyeliner.  I’m way too much of a klutz to master tightlining, but this makes my eyes look flawless and it’s practically foolproof.  My eyes look so smoking hot I want to make out with MYSELF!  So far I’ve only tried it in black and I *must* try as many of the other shades as I can get my hands on.  If you have any of the limited edition shades (oriental bronze, oriental metal, etc.) and want to part with them for some unfathomable reason, clickity-click on that ‘contact/press’ tab up there and let’s chat.

2.  Bobbi Brown Shimmering Nudes palette–All the reasons you’ve been using to talk yourself out of this palette–it’s so sheer/boring/dupeable–are keeping you from owning one of the best palettes ever.  It’s perfect for a lovely and easy daytime look.  You’re definitely not going to create any over the top looks using this, but if you just want to look polished and pretty this is your go-to item right here.  The shadow formulas are silky and buildable and the shades complement one another perfectly.  I could honestly do without the ‘Espresso’ shade that’s included as a liner but the remaining colors more than make Shimmering Nudes worth the slightly hefty price tag.

3. Make Up For Ever HD Microfinish Powder–I was slightly skeptical when I read the claims that it will reduce the appearance of blemishes and produce a perfect, radiant complexion without accentuating wrinkles.  Until I used it.  The first time I used this I slapped it on bare skin–no primer, foundation, or concealer.  My bare skin is certainly not perfect, at least not yet (come on Retin-A, work your magic!)  I have large pores, blackheads, flakies, and a few blemishes.  After dusting with the HD powder I looked pretty damn good, if I do say so myself.  Not perfect, but close enough for rock and roll.  It really did make my pores practically disappear, minimized the visibility of pimples, and made me look kind of soft and glowy.  Applied over a properly made-up face the effect is even more profound–I look airbrushed.  My only gripe about this product is the packaging.  The tiny canister and sifter top are a headache to deal with.  Good thing the result justifies the means.

4.  Chanel Exceptionnel Mascara–This mascara gives new meaning to ‘false lashes in a tube’.  I have short, stubby eyelashes and this mascara makes them look a mile long.  The applicator is the only one like it I’ve ever seen–alternating rows of combs and bristles.  It would be really easy to overdo it with this, so a light hand and a separate lash comb is in order unless you’re trying to achieve an over the top look. 

5.  T3 Bespoke Labs Featherweight Dryer–I’ve already professed my love for this dryer in a previous post, but it bears repeating.  This. Dryer. Is. Perfection.  ‘Nuff said.  I’m currently test-driving T3’s Medium Duality Iron and some of their liquid styling products and hope they can meet the astronomically high bar the Featherweight has set.  Stay tuned for a review on those products in the near future.

Read Full Post »

In what may be the oddest bit of news I’ve seen about this case lately, a protester swiped a bag of garbage from the Anthony home Tuesday morning.  She took the garbage to her own home and went through it to look for any evidence or clues that may be useful in locating Caylee.  Since it was left on the curb, which is public property, it was perfectly legal for ‘Lorraine’ (as she wishes to be identified) to take the garbage.  I’m truly not sure what to think about this.  New low in this case?  Gutsy move?  Just gross?  She didn’t find anything worthwhile, by the way.

Read Full Post »

More NY Fashion Week Spring 2009 backstage and runway photos from GHD today, this time from the Monique Lhuillier and Proenza Schouler shows.  All the styles were accomplished with their MKIV styler and liquid products, of course.  I have to say that the hair at PS doesn’t do much for me, but I love the red lips.  The hair look at ML is much more my style, not that anyone gives a damn.  Enjoy!

Monique Lhuillier

Monique Lhuillier

Monique Lhuillier

Monique Lhuillier

Proenza Schouler

Proenza Schouler

Proenza Schouler

Proenza Schouler

Read Full Post »